Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Design Institute of Australia
The website of the Design Institute of Australia has non-member pages that give information about the design industry, careers in design, a timeline history of design in Australia from 1789 and a select bibliography of materials about Australian design. Click on the image below.
The Design Council UK
The Design Council UK provides resources for teachers and pupils. Activities and information relate to the skills of creativity, problem solving, idea generation and team working. Topics include the design process, designs into schools week, in-depth case studies & product profiles.
Click on image below.
The Story of Stuff
Story of Stuff
A twenty minute, fast-paced, look at the production and consumption patterns and how this affects environmental and social issues.
Ellen MacArthur Foundation
This website, developed by the Ellen MacArthur Foundation, explores how we can learn from living systems and rethink the way we design, make and use our stuff. It aims to encourage children and primary educators to explore the concept of a circular economy and provides fun activities to stimulate debate.
Secret Life of Flowers
The Exploratorium's Science Of Gardening examines the secret lives of flowers. Visitors click on various types of flowers to discover magnified views of their parts, reproduction, attraction to insects and animals and seeding. Click the image above to visit the site.
The Design Museum, London
The Design Museum London, displays 20th and 21st century design, architecture and fashion. The site's education section includes Verner Panton, Innovation, Memphis collective, Chairs and the Ford Motor Company design process resource packs. Click on the image below.
Australian Designers at Work
Australian designers at work is a collaborative project between the NSW Department of Education and Training and the Powerhouse Museum. It has been developed as an online resource for students and teachers of Stage 4 Technology. The six designers represent three areas of study: built environment, products and information and communication and six different design specialisations: environmental design, interior design, industrial design, jewellery design, promotional design and digital media design. Designers include fashion designers Louise Olsen, Stephen Ormandy and Liane Rossler of Dinosaur Designs, graphic designer Ray Parslow, interior designer Alison Page etc. Topics include information about the design process, evaluating success and a gallery of work.
Australian/NZ Standards for Products
Australian Made Australian Grown
The education website of the Australian Made, Australian Grown (AMAG) initiative has a teaching guide and downloadable activities on Australian made and grown products. A database of products can be searched by name, manufacturer or type of product.
CSIRO Sustainability Research
This website provides access to the full text of Ecos, published by the CSIRO, Australia's most authoritative magazine on the science of sustainability in the environment and industry. The magazine features articles on sustainability research and news topics from across Australia and the Asia Pacific and is an excellent resource for geography, biology and science students. Key word search or browse by year.
BBC - Sustainability
This BBC website about sustainability has information, graphs, maps and case studies related to population, food, cities, waste, tourism and energy.
Care Labels for Textiles
GINETEX, the International Association for Textile Care Labelling, has devised an international labelling system for the care of textiles based on symbols. The site explains the principles behind the labelling system, including the standard order of pictograms: washing, bleaching, drying, ironing and professional textile care. A overview of each care symbol is provided as well as required additional information: fibre content, size, identification of origin (made in) and further information, such as eco labels.
D-Hub is an Australian design website that showcases good design in fields such as architecture, craft, digital media, fashion, graphic, industrial, engineering and landscape. It also contains news, interviews and opinions concerned with design. Click on the image below.
The Gallery of Australian Design
The Gallery of Australian Design aims to promote Australian Design. The website provides information about its exhibitions and events. The website provides links to related design websites.
The Secret Life of Things
The Secret Life of Things
Free Sustainability e-learning resources.
Uncovering the hidden environmental impacts of everyday things!
The Victoria and Albert Museum of Childhood
The Victoria and Albert Museum of Childhood provides these templates for paper-based things to make and do for children including paper dolls and models, thaumatropes, jumping jacks, and more. Learn about the toys of the past. Present and past family life.
The Secret Life of Flowers
The Exploratorium's Science Of Gardening examines the secret lives of flowers. Visitors click on various types of flowers to discover magnified views of their parts, reproduction, attraction to insects and animals and seeding.