Library: VCE English Texts: Women of Troy

About the author

Encyclopedia Britannica This link opens in a new window
Encyclopaedia Britannica contains hundreds of thousands of articles, biographies, videos, images, and Web sites links for a variety of ages.

Search for "Euripides" and you will find a comprehensive article covering the Greek dramatists life, career and works.

You can also access related information, including an article on "The Trojan Women" and links to relevant websites and images.

Search for "Helen of Troy" for a brief overview of this historical legend.

Search for "theatre" and read the section on "Developments in Ancient Greece"

Historical context

BBC - Who was Helen of Troy
Bettany Hughes is an historian, here she writes about the myth of Helen through the ages.
The Conversation - Was Helen really to blame for the Trojan War – or just a scapegoat?
This article examines the evolution of the myth of Helen and the on-going trope connecting warfare and violence to women and their bodies.
Troy Timelines
On this website, you can explore an interactive timeline of Troy and the Trojan War, discover information about myths, legends, facts and archaeology.
History.com - Trojan War
This article contains a video and brief overview of the Trojan War.
Ancient Encyclopedia - Trojan War
This website provides an overview of the Trojan War, including key battles and people.
The British Musuem - The myth of the Trojan War
This article examines how the story of the Trojan War is communicated through ancient relics and art.

Recent productions

Australian Stage - Women of Troy/Sydney Theatre Company
A review of the 2008 production by the Sydney Theatre Company
The Guardian - Women of Troy/ National Theatre London
Photographs from The National Theatre London's 2007 production.

Ancient Greek Theatre

This film explores the defining aspects of Greek Theatre. The theatre of Ancient Greece flourished between 550 BC and 220 BC. This collection features video about Greek theatre and productions of Greek plays staged at the National Theatre.

This film explores the role of women in Ancient Greek society and the representation of female identity in Antigone, Women of Troy and Medea.

The earliest recorded drama in the west arose in Athen, and these early plays grew out or religious ritual. Namely, they evolved from the worship of Dionysus, god of wine, fertility, and ritual madness.

In this video, Prof. Edith Hall breaks down the tragedy from the comedy of Greek Theatre.

Ancient Encycolpedia - Ancient Greek Theatre
This article provides a brief overview of the aspects of Ancient Greek Theatre.

Study Guides

Click on the image above to access the LitChart study guide for The Trojan Women/Women of Troy by Euripides. It contains summaries, overview of the author and context, analysis of characters and themes and a visualisation of the themes and plot.

Lisa's Study Guides: Women of Troy
This study guide provides an overview of the author, historical context, literary devices and theme analysis.
Lisa's Study Guides: Women of Troy Essay Topics
This website provides essay questions based on Women of Troy and also provides a break down of an example response.
The Trojan Women: summary and questions
This website summarises each episode of The Trojan Women and asks prompt questions to clarify and deepen undertanding.
Greek and Trojan Family Trees
This PDF provides a visualisation of the Greek and Trojan family trees involved in the Trojan War.
Gale eBooks - The Trojan Women
This ebook provides a summary of each episode and an overview of the characters, themes, historical context and style.
Meet the characters - The Trojan Women
A visual guide to the characters in The Trojan Women.