It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This book grew out of a lecture that Virginia Woolf had been invited to give at Girton College, Cambridge in 1928. Ranging over Jane Austen and Charlotte Bronte and why neither of them could have written War and Peace, over the silent fate of Shakespeare's gifted (and imaginary) sister, over the effects of poverty and chastity on female creativity, she gives us one of the greatest feminist polemics of the century.
First published in Paris in 1949, The Second Sex by Simone de Beavoir was a groundbreaking, risqué book that became a runaway success. Selling 20,000 copies in its first week, the book earned its author both notoriety and admiration. Since then, The Second Sex has been translated into forty languages and has become a landmark in the history of feminism.
An overview of the history and development of formalism, paying attention to the primacy of the function of language.
Insight Literature Handbook by Robert Beardwood
Publication Date: 2012-08-15
Insight Literature Handbook is a comprehensive and accessible reference book for all secondary students and teachers. From close anaysis through to understanding and applying literary theory, this contemporary, full-color title introduces all of the essential knowledge and skills needed to analyze literature in a fresh and engaging way.
Literary Theory: A Practical Introduction, Third Edition, presents a comprehensive introduction to the full range of contemporary approaches to the study of literature and culture, from formalism, structuralism, and historicism to ethnic, gender, and science studies. Introduces students to a variety of contemporary approaches to the study of literature and culture Demonstrates how the varying perspectives on texts can lead to different interpretations of the same work Features numerous updates that include new literary texts, new and expanded sections Represents the ideal accompaniment to the upcoming Third Edition of Literary Theory: An Anthology
Bringing together Mary Klages's bestselling introductory books Literary Theory: A Guide for the Perplexed and Key Terms in Literary Theory into one fully integrated and substantially revised, expanded and updated volume, this is an accessible and authoritative guide for anyone entering the often bewildering world of literary theory for the first time. Literary Theory: The Complete Guide includes: · Accessible chapters on all the major schools of theory from deconstruction through psychoanalytic criticism to Marxism and postcolonialism · New chapters introducing ecocriticism, affect theory and biopolitics · Expanded and updated guides to feminist theory, queer theory, postmodernism and globalization · New and fully integrated extracts of theoretical and literary texts to guide students through their use of theory · Accessible coverage of major theorists such as Saussure, Freud, Lacan, Foucault, Cixous, Deleuze and Guattari and Bhabha Each chapter now includes reflection questions for class discussion or independent study and a cross-referenced glossary of key terms covered, as well as updated guides to further reading on each topic. Literary Theory: The Complete Guide is an essential starting point for students of critical theory.
The Norton Anthology of Theory and Criticism by Vincent B. Leitch; William E. Cain; Laurie A. Finke; John McGowan; T. Denean Sharpley-Whiting (Editor); Jeffrey Williams
Publication Date: 2018-06-11
The gold standard anthology for anyone who wants to understand the development and current state of literary theory. Offering 191 pieces by 157 authors, The Norton Anthology of Theory and Criticism, Third Edition, is more comprehensive and more varied in its selection than any other anthology. Forty-eight NEW selections--concentrated mostly on the twentieth and twenty-first centuries--make the book not only the best overview of the history of theory, but also a remarkably up-to-date portrait of the state of theory today.
The Penguin Dictionary of Literary Terms and Literary Theory by J. A. Cuddon; M. A. R. Habib
Publication Date: 2015-09-01
'An indispensable work of reference' Times Literary Supplement The Penguin Dictionary of Literary Terms and Literary Theory is firmly established as a key work of reference in the complex and varied field of literary criticism. Now in its fifth edition, it remains the most comprehensive and accessible work of its kind, and is invaluable for students, teachers and general readers alike. - Gives definitions of technical terms (hamartia, iamb, zeugma) and critical jargon (aporia, binary opposition, intertextuality) - Explores literary movements (neoclassism, romanticism, vorticism) and schools of literary theory - Covers genres (elegy, fabliau, pastoral) and literary forms (haiku, ottava rima, sonnet)
This article provides a comprehensive overview of the scope of literature, from critical theory, the historical development, themes and content. You can also search Britannica for information on literary devices, such as alliteration and irony.
Marx: a Very Short Introduction by Peter Singer
Publication Date: 2001-01-18
Peter Singer identifies the central vision that unifies Marx's thought, enabling us to grasp Marx's views as a whole. He sees him as a philosopher primarily concerned with human freedom, rather than as an economist or a social scientist. He explains alienation, historical materialism, theeconomic theory of Capital, and Marx's ideas of communism, in plain English, and concludes with an assessment of Marx's legacy.
An introduction to the nature and scope of philosophical feminism, exploring the intersection of feminism with Marxist concerns of labour and economy.
Beginning Theory by Peter Barry
Publication Date: 2009-02-01
Beginning theory has been helping students navigate through the thickets of literary and cultural theory for well over a decade now. This new and expanded third edition continues to offer students and readers the best one-volume introduction to the field. The bewildering variety of approaches, theorists and technical language is lucidly and expertly unravelled. Unlike many books which assume certain positions about the critics and the theories they represent, Peter Barry allows readers to develop their own ideas once first principles and concepts have been grasped. The book has been updated and includes two new chapters, one of which (Literary theory - a history in ten events) innovatively surveys the course of theory, while the other (Theory after 'Theory') maps the arrival of new 'isms' since the second edition appeared in 2002. Liberal humanism - Structuralism - Post-structuralism and deconstruction - Postmodernism - Psychoanalytic criticism - Feminist criticism - Lesbian/gay criticism - Marxist criticism - New historicism and cultural materialism - Postcolonial criticism - Stylistics - Narratology - Ecocriticism - Presentism/Transversal poetics/ New aestheticism/Historical formalism/Cognitive poetics.
This website provides a concise overview of the theory and development of Post-colonial Criticism, with an emphasis on exploring the representation of the relationships and questioning dominant discourse.