Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Baroque Music 1600 -1750
Start your research by reviewing the resources available on this page and the databases listed on the Year 9 Music page. Search WorldCat for items in our library and carefully select which databases and encyclopedias will be of most use to your purpose or task. Think about your search terms carefully and refine them as you learn more about the topic. The links below provide a starting point for information about Baroque Music. Documentary evidence for the Baroque Period is more accurate than the Medieval and Renaissance eras but is still sometimes incomplete and you may find different dates cited in various sources.
The Baroque Period
Article from Chatham Baroque providing an overview of the period. Includes video and images.
Encyclopedia Britannica article with sound recordings. Note the link at the end of the article to Western music: The Baroque era for further details.
What is Baroque Music?
Introduction to Baroque music from the Music of the Baroque. Chicago, Ill. USA. Includes discussion of composers, philosophy & characteristics of Baroque, forms and instrumental sounds.
History of Baroque Music and Origins
Explains the history and development of Baroque Music using text and images. Includes composers, style and form and instruments. Lumen Learning.
Glossary Word file from Western Michigan University. USA.
Helsinki Philharmonic Orchestra web site comprehensive description and analysis of music in the Baroque Era - composers, instruments, elements of music.
Carlo Gesualdo (1566-1613)
Carlo Gesualdo, principe di Venosa, conte di Conza
Britannica article providing biographical information.
BBC Links to Wikipedia article, performances and radio programs.
BBC radio program profiling the life of Carlo Gesualdo.14 Mar 2016 Petroc Trelawny travels to Naples to explore one of history's most notorious composers.
Nikolaus Harnonco. Includes commentary by Italian musicologist. Carlo Gesualdo
Biography and discussion of his major works. NTS internet broadcasters. London, Manchester, Los Angeles.
Claudio Monteverdi (1567- 1643)
Britannica article providing biographical information. Includes major works, sound recordings.
Article includes detailed biographical information, description of major works. Lumen Learning
BBC Radio links to Wikipedia biographical information. Ten performance recordings.
BBC sound recording. 13 Jun 2014 Donald Macleod follows Monteverdi's road to stardom at the court of Mantua.
Medici TV - Short article followed by 21 related videos.
Arcangelo Corelli (1653-1713)
Britannica article providing biographical information. Links to other related articles.
A concise biography of Arcangelo Corelli. Baroquemusic.org.
BBC Radio links to Wikipedia biography and two performances.
BBC Podcast: 20 Jun 2014 Donald Macleod explores the life and career of Arcangelo Corelli.
Jean-Baptiste Lully (1632-1687)
Britannica article providing biographical information. Links to related articles.
BBC Radio biography from Wikipedia and a podcast:Lully: Le bourgeois gentilhomme
Howard Goodall and Suzy Klein discuss Lully's Le bourgeois gentilhomme. Jean-Baptiste Lully
Biography with list of major works and sound files. Music-world.org.
Learning To Love Lully: 'The Grand Motets'
NPR radio podcast provides short introduction to Lully and reviews a new recording of his "great motets". Includes sound recordings of Te Deum: Symphonie, Plaude laetare Gallia: 'Vivat regent princeps fidelis', Quare fremuerrunt: 'Reges eos in virga ferrea'. Public radio USA.
George Frideric Handel (1685-1759)
George Frideric Handel
Britannica article divided into sections about his life, music and influence. Includes images and aria video.
George Frideric Handel
Detailed biographical information including life, works and legacy. Lumen Learning.
BBC Radio podcast 02 Feb 2018 Donald Macleod introduces a variety of music across the whole of Handel's life
BBC Composer of the Week. Wonderful collection of podcasts related to Handel's life and works.
Heinrich Schütz (1585-1672)
Britannica article - biography, related articles, image.
BBC Podcast from the Composer of the Week series. Donald Macleod explores the work of German composer Heinrich Schutz.
Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750)
Johann Sebastian Bach
Britannica biographical information including his life, reputation and influence. Includes images and sound recordings. Links to related articles.
The Life and Legacy of Johann Sebastian Bach
Comprehensive Bach web site showcasing his life, composition and music. Includes several video performances. Leipzig Bach Archive, Germany.
BBC Radio 3 Composer of the week - Listen to programmes examining the life and works of Johann Sebastian Bach. 28 Programs - some biography, performances, discussions of specific works.
Johann Sebastian Bach
BBC Biography and link to Wikipedia. 17 Bach performance videos.
Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750)
British Library (UK) online gallery. Biographical information, his reputation, explanation of a "fugue" and image of 'The Well-tempered Clavier' manuscript. Listen to sound recordings via the Related material box.
Antonio Vivaldi (1678-1741)
BBC Radio link to Wikipedia biographical information, 9 performances and two biographical programs.
26 Dec 2014 Donald Macleod explores the life and music of Antonio Vivaldi. Sound recording from BBC Radio.
Virtuosity in Vivaldi’s Concertos
Biographical information about Vivaldi and comparison between his concertos and those of Arcangelo Corelli. Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center. NY. USA.
A. Vivaldi: His Life and Legacy
A detailed biography of Vivaldi and exploration of his contribution to Baroque music. Includes images. Lumen Learning.
Henry Purcell (1659–1695)
Britannica article providing information on his life, songs and independent musical compositions, music for church, music for theatre and style. Includes sound recordings.
BBC and Wikipedia biographical information.13 performances - sound recordings & video.
BBC podcast: 09 Jun 2014 Donald Macleod and Bruce Wood explore Purcell's life and work.
BBC Radio 3 Composer of the Week. Podcasts discussing Purcell's individual works, songs, contemporaries and music for theatre.
Georg Philipp Telemann (1681–1767)
Overview of Baroque Instrumental Music
Provides an historical account of the development of music during the Baroque era. Features prominent composers, instruments and Baroque Suite. Lumen Learning
Baroque orchestral music
BBC Bitesize covers concertos and orchestral suites, including text and sound recordings.
Britannica article describing the suite. Related articles include Baroque composers.
Examines the components of the Baroque Suite, providing sound files to help identify each part. Lumen Learning.
Bach wrote many suites for keyboard instruments such as the harpsichord and clavichord. The focus in this segment is his Suite in E minor, BWV 996.
BBC Bitsize describes the sonata in the Baroque era and provides examples. Includes sound recordings.
Describes the development of the Sonata in the Baroque period. Lumen Learning
Britannica article detailing the components of the sonata, its history and relevance to the Baroque era. Links to other articles.
Britannica article traces the history of the concerto. Focus on the Baroque section. Includes sound files.
What is a concerto grosso?
Article describing the concerto grosso and its place in Baroque music. Includes text, images and video performances. Also has a link to Baroque Week. ABC Classic. Australia.
What is a Concerto Grosso?
Concise article with image and performance video explaining the concerto grosso. Parker Symphony Orchestra. Colorado, USA.
Origins and Flourishing of the Concerto in the Baroque by Judith Eckelmeyer. An examination on the origins of the concerto in the Baroque era. Refers to composers, significant concertos and instruments. Mozarts Roses. USA.
Britannica article explaining the concept and application in Baroque music.
Article from Lumen Learning explaining the concept. There is a link to a longer article about figured bass.
Short article from BBC Music Magazine. Discusses application of Basso Continuo to performances during Baroque era.
Britannica article examines origins and development of the oratario, includes sound recordings.
BBC Bitesize article using Handel's Messiah as an example -text and images.
Origins, history relevance to Baroque period. Lumen Learning.
The Baroque Period: Handel and the Oratorio | Music Arts Toolkit
Very accessible video of Professor Jeff Johnson, University of Kentucky, School of Music discussing oratorios and the Baroque period, focussing on the work of Handel. Other Baroque performance videos and links to print information. PBS (Public Broadcasting Service) USA.
Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment - https://oae.co.uk/
What is a Cantata? Our co-principal keyboard Steven Devine explains as he accompanies soprano Rowan Pierce in Bach's Cantata Weichet nur, betrübte Schatten (Yield now, troubling shadows) BWV202.
Britannica article describing the origin of the cantata. Also see related articles.
Describes the history of the cantata and its place in Baroque music. Includes sound files. Lumen Learning.
Bach’s Cantatas: a Brief Orientation
Focusses on Bach's cantatas during different periods of his career. Links to free downloads.
What is Baroque Opera?
Introduction to opera in the Baroque period by Pinchgut Opera, NSW.
Most people know the big, bold 19th Century operas, but before that, came baroque operas by pioneering composers like Monteverdi. Meet the unique Australian company reviving these earliest works - including 16-- smash hit, The Return of Ulysses. ABC News feature about the Pinchgut Opera Company. Discusses Monteverdi's Ulysses.
Dame Joan Sutherland singing three baroque arias, one Italian and two English. The first except is the simple "The traveller benighted" from Arne's "Love in a village", then, as the central piece, comes "Furia di donna ingrata" from "La buona figliuola" by Piccini and finally the joyful "Light as thistledown" from Shield's "Rosina".
Britannica article describing the origin of arias and their role in Baroque era opera. Includes video commentary on some of Handel's arias.
List of links to Baroque musical instruments. Pages contain descriptions, images and sound recordings. Case Western Reserve University. Ohio, USA.
The most beautifully elaborate instruments from the Baroque
Article from Classic FM showcasing the most elaborate instruments from the Baroque era. Images and descriptions.
Use top menu to navigate to Brass, Keyboards, Strings and Winds. Individual instruments are profiled including text, images and sound recordings.
Instruments in the Baroque orchestra
BBC Bitesize article provides list and description of Baroque Orchestral instruments and images. A sound recording of Vivaldi's Four Seasons is included.
Short description and history of the Baroque violin. Includes, tuning, bow and difference between Baroque and modern violins.
Description, sound recordings, images. Case Western University, Ohio, USA.
The Baroque violin – more than catgut strings
Interesting article providing information about the Baroque violin and its role in music history. Includes images, sound files andlinks to more information about bows.
Viola Da Gamba (Baroque)
Description, images and sound recordings. Case Western Reserve University, Ohio, USA.
The Viola da Gamba
Short article describing the viola da gamba. Tafel Music, Toronto, Ontario, Canada.
Description, images and sound files are used to portray the Baroque cello. Case Western Reserve University, Ohio, USA.
The Baroque Cello
An informative web site that clearly illustrates the development of the cello in the Baroque era. Links and zooming into images highlight important features. BachCelloSuites.com
Describes the changes from Renaissance to Baroque period. Uses images and sound files. Case Western Reserve University, Ohio, USA.
What is a baroque or ‘natural’ trumpet – and how do you play it?
British trumpet virtuoso Alison Balsom introduces her wonderful instrument – a modern adaptation of the “natural” trumpet. Video, text and images. ClassicFM, UK.
Describes the evolution of the horn in the Baroque era. Images, text and sound recordings. Case Western Reserve University. Ohio, USA.
Introducing the Baroque Horn
Principal Horn Roger Montgomery shows us the basics of the baroque horn and how it differs from the modern instrument. Video. Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment. UK.
Describes the origins of the Baroque oboe and links to the Renaissance shawms. Images, text and sound recordings. Case Western Reserve University, Ohio, USA.
Introducing the Baroque Oboe
Our Principal Oboe Katharina Spreckelsen explains why the quirks of the baroque oboe make it so exciting. Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment. UK.
Outlines the development of the Baroque bassoon. Includes images, sound recordings and text. Case Western Reserve University, USA.
The Baroque German Harpsichord
Descriptions and images of various types of Baroque harpsichords. Baroque Music.org
Italian/German hpd (Baroque)
Description, images and sound recordings of the Italian/German Harpsichord. Case Western Reserve University, Ohio, USA.
Article providing a history of the harpsichord and particularly its role in Baroque German music. Includes images and video performances. Elbphilharmonie Hamburg, Germany.
Dances of the Baroque Era
Summary of the role of dance in the Baroque era in Europe.
Handout in pdf format, clearly explaining types of Baroque dance and terms. University of Adelaide, Music Examinations Board.
Baroque Dance for Musicians
In this interesting article a violinist-dancer shares tips to aid instrumentalists and vocalists. Early Music America.
Britannica article describing the gavotte. Image included.
What is a Gavotte?
BBC Music Magazine article describing the gavotte dance and its music.
Britannica article describes origins of the minute and related music.
What is a Minuet?
Richard Wigmore traces the musical history of the minuet. Gramophone Classical Music Reviews, UK.
Real men dance the minuet
Article examining the cultural significance of the minuet. Norwegian SciTech News, Norway.
Britannica article providing a short description of the passepied.
Britannica article describing the sarabande.
Exploring the Sarabande Over 400 Years
The Listener's Club article addresses the history of the Sarabande and includes Baroque era video performances.
Article from the Oxford Reference Online The International Encyclopedia of Dance. Pdf download.
Britannica article describing the Rigaudon.