It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Essay and photographs of slum life in 1930s Melbourne suburbs.
In our first film of the series, we bring you the vivid and heartbreaking photographs from our F. Oswald Barnett collection. They provide a rare glimpse into the lives of Melbourne slum-dwellers of the 1930s - and the film also tells a fascinating story about the history of Melbourne's housing reform activism. See link below for the blog.
Examines the impact of the Great Depression on Australian society during the late 1920s and 1930s. This period saw levels of poverty and despair on a scale never before experienced in contemporary Australia. A diverse range of opinions and reflections are presented, providing insights to fascinating aspects of Australian society at the time.
It is the biography of a working-class generation born in the shadow of the depression of the 1890s; called to war in 1914; finding its feet in the 1920s only to be struck down by unemployment in the l930s; then rescued by the economic revival of World War II and the long post-war boom. It concludes with the coming of the new Australians in the 1950s and 1960s. But it is also the story of the inner Melbourne suburb of Richmond, home of the legendary 'Tigers', of fierce Labour politics, of pride, loyalty and community. It is a story of human courage in the face of poverty and of love and friendship in the face of despair. This portrait of working-class life is moving, powerful and unforgettable.
State Library of Victoria resource - scroll to find the entry for Nine Days.
Be sure to join the State Library so that you can search the Gale Literature databases and JSTOR as there are several good articles about Zola and the The Ladies Paradise in these databases. Sign up via the above link.
Also check your local public library's list of databases and Reference tools for Literary databases.
Information from the Australian Catholic Historical Society.
Ireland's 1916 Easter Rising helped to shape political forces in Australia at a crucial time in our own national history. In particular, the execution of the leaders of the insurrection had a profound effect on Archbishop Daniel Mannix, the man who led Australia's Catholic community. Independent documentary maker Eoin Hahessy captures the mood of the time in this new film commemorating the centenary of these powerful events. 46 min.
The Leggett Ballroom in Chapel Street, Prahran in Melbourne, has an extraordinary history as shown in this documentary. It shows the changing social attitudes across several decades. Watch for the War Years era to gain an appreciation of the scene describing the visit of Jean, Kip and Francis. YouView Australia TV.
Australian War Memorial site provides information on some of the conditions the Westaways would have faced during World War II.
This BTN special gives a brief history of World War II. We find out about Australia's role in the war and learn more about the bombing of Darwin. We also take a look at the impact World War II had on the world.
World War II: 1939-1945 chronicles the events leading up to World War II, and Australia's involvement in several important Allied campaigns. It also explores the war's impact on the lives of Australian servicemen and women, as well as Australians supporting the war effort at home. Specially selected extracts from primary sources bring this period of Australian history to life
ABC News collection of articles about 9/11 on the 10th Anniversary. Includes perspectives of Australians.
A powerful and unflinchingly honest look at what happened after the 9/11 tragedy - a chronicle of life in a changed world. It is 10 years since the age of terror began in earnest. From the moment the Twin Towers fell, 9/11 was seen as a watershed, a historical turning point of epic, irreversible proportions. Since then we've said, again and again, that 9/11 changed everything and that nothing would ever be the same. History Channel 1 hour 21min. 2011.