Introduction
Start your research by reviewing the resources available on this page and the databases listed below. Search WorldCat for items in our library and carefully select which databases, web sites and encyclopedias will be of most use to your purpose and topic. Think about your search terms carefully and refine them as you learn more about the topic. The links below provide access to a wide variety of Australian History resources, both primary and secondary sources. More specific resources are available on each of the topic tabs.
|
Thousands of digital Australian History resources are available via the online collection. Visit the Online Curated Collections, Educational Resources and Digital Learning links. |
The State Library of Victoria has wealth of resources that provide insights into Australian history, the development of society, culture and documents related to people places and events. |
A great source of visual and documentary sources in Australian history. Check for special exhibitions and online collections. |
 The National Museum of Australia links to a range of resources held in their collections and beyond. Explore the digital classroom to find resources linked to our history and culture, including at timeline and curriculum specific links. |
Search Australian Government records to find information about Indigenous Australians, Defence & War Service, Immigration, Australian Identity and much more. |
Trove is a collaboration between the National Library of Australia and hundreds of Partner organisations around Australia. |
| European-Indigenous Relations | Convicts / Penal Settlements | Prominent Settlers /Public Figures | Events |
|---|---|---|---|
|
State Library of Victoria Guide - Victoria's Early History, 1803-1851 Aboriginal Australians. includes primary sources. Colonisation- Australians Together an organisation aimed at bringing Indigenous and other Australians together by telling stories to help us understand where we've come from, where we are today and where we go from here. Living with the locals: Six extraordinary first contact stories of friendship and survival - ABC TV includes text and video. White Australia Has a Black History An overview covering the coming of the Europeans, wars, massacres, disease and dispossession, missions, reserves, racism, population decline, stolen children, political activism, land rights, native title and culture. Our Generation The original version of the ground-breaking Indigenous rights documentary Our Generation. Winner "Best Campaign Film" at London International Documentary Festival 2011. For more information, visit: www.ourgeneration.org.au |
1820s -My Place for teachers Convicts and the Colonisation of Australia, 1788-1868 - Digital Panopticon University of Liverpool, UK 1849 Arrowsmith Rare Antique Convict Map of Van Diemens Land, Tasmania Australia. Includes description and historical significance of the map. Classical Images Port Arthur - A Machine to Grind Rogues Honest This fascinating short film provides an insight into the operation of the convict prison settlement at Port Arthur, Tasmania. Featuring stunning photography and brilliant, three dimensional reconstructions of Port Arthur in its heyday, it touches on the lives of the convicts, soldiers, administrators and their families, and offers an intriguing glimpse into the everyday life of this extraordinary place. Port Arthur - A machine to grind rogues honest was produced for the Port Arthur Historic Site Management Authority by Stormfront Productions. All rights reserved. Convicts - Centre for Tasmanian Historical Studies. Convict Life - Libraries Tasmania article with images and links to some convict records. The Penal Settlements of Early Van Diemen's Land. - Digitised copy of 1954 publication of the Royal Society of Tasmania describing various penal settlements in Tasmania. Includes images. Penal Colonies -Van Diemen's Land - Hansard Report from British Parliament. 1846. Australian Convict Records: Tasmania. State Library of South Australia guide to research includes links to primary sources. |
William Bligh  Bligh - Hero or Villain? -National Maritime Museum William Bligh -Visit Sydney - covers career, biography, Rum Rebellion. Governor Lachlan Macquarie
Macquarie, Lachlan (1762–1824) - Australian Dictionary of Biography Lachlan MACQUARIE (1761-1824) - Lachlan and Elizabeth Macquarie Archive 1810 to 1821 - Governor Lachlan Macquarie - Parliament of NSW Macquarie's Influence - Macquarie University Fact check: Was Lachlan Macquarie a mass murderer who ordered the genocide of Indigenous people? - ABC News Mary Reibey Australian Dictionary of Biography  |
Rum Rebellion Governor William Bligh is deposed in the Rum Rebellion - National Museum Australia Bligh and the Rum Rebellion - Australian National Maritime Museum 
Exploring Democracy ' John Macarthur ' Pastoral Expansion Kings and the expansion of the pastoral frontier - National Museum of Australia - explores the relationship between pastoral expansion and Indigenous Australians. Pastoralism - Western Australia - describes how land was located and leases distributed. Pastoral Leases and the Australian Landscape - Thuranka - Student publication Arc @ UNSW.
English Squatters in Australia and Their Shanty, Circa 1890-1910, Australian Photographs C.1890-1910 from the Collection of H.W. Walker by Australian agricultural and rural life, Squattocracy - State Library NSW describes the emergence of squatters, includes images and map. The Squattocracy - State Library of Victoria |
|
First Australians - They Have Come to Stay The first Australians and the British, the most powerful Empire in history, come face to face in Sydney on January 26, 1788. Their differences are immense but apprehension quickly turns to curiosity. Friendships form, some between powerful men such as Governor Arthur Phillip and the Aboriginal Bennelong. But by the time this pair leave for London three years later, relations between the two races have soured. The bloodshed worsens as settlers spread out across the land. SBS 2008. First Australians - Her Will to Survive The land grab moves south to Tasmania. In an effort to protect the real estate prices, it is decided to remove the Tasmanian Aboriginal people from the island. The Government enlists an Englishmen for the job, who is helped by a young Aboriginal woman Truganini.
|
Convict Kids Convicts sent out to the penal colonies in Australia were expected to work as a part of their punishment, and convict kids were no exceptions. They also lived under the same harsh conditions as the adults. Learn how, in 1817, Governor Macquarie commissioned the build of the Hyde Park Barracks to house unmarried male convicts working in government. Port Arthur - The History. Web page of the Port Arthur historical site outlining the history of the settlement and convict stories. Cascades Female Factory - Web page of the Cascades Female Factory historical site, describes the establishment of the site and life there. A Convict Colony - Maritime Museum of Tasmania description of establishment of penal colony in Tasmania. Artefacts from transportation vessels and convict portraits. Maria Island - Description of the penal settlement and its operations from Centre for Tasmanian Historical Studies. History - Information from Encounter Maria Island, the historical site of the penal settlement. Macquarie Harbour Penal Station. Description of the settlement and operations fromfrom Centre for Tasmanian Historical Studies. Escape from Macquarie Harbour. Document outlining convict escape. State Library NSW. |
William Buckley 
William Buckley Describes the ABC television documentary created about Buckley's life titled The Extraordinary Tale Of William Buckley. William Buckley was an escaped convict who was discoverd by the Wathaurang people, and lived with them for many years until Batman's party came across him in 1835. Des Cowley introduces us to the various items held at the State Library that relate to Buckley and his legend. |
Castle Hill Uprising / Second Battle of Vinegar Hill Castle Hill Uprising - MyPlace article outlining the event. Castle Hill Rebellion - National Museum Australia. Description, images and animation shown below:
National Library of Australia |
| Founding Fathers | Founding Fathers | Gold Rush & Population | City Development & Popularity | ||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
|
The Founding of Melbourne, 1835 - Museums Victoria Collections Founding Myths - Blog produced and published by the School of Historical & Philosophical Studies, The University of Melbourne Published July 2008 A Founding Father to be Proud of - The Australian newspaper article about William Buckley. 
Further information about William Buckley is located in the Early Settlement tab. |
"There has been much disputation as to whom should be accorded the honour of the ‘white foundation of the colony', and, after much consideration of the question, I have arrived at the following conclusion, which, to my mind, appears irresistible; That the Grimes party were the first European arrivals at the site of the future capital [...] That Batman was the first prospector of Melbourne and Geelong. That (not Fawkner, but) Fawkner's party – five men, a woman, and the woman's cat – were the bona-fide founders of the present great metropolis." – Garryowen, chronicles of Early Melbourne, 1888 Melbourne's Founders | Ergo n.d., viewed 10 May 2021, < http://ergo.slv.vic.gov.au/explore-history/colonial-melbourne/pioneers/melbournes-founders >. Consider the information about the founders of Melbourne on the State Library of Victoria's Ergo web site. |
Melbourne Built on Gold - SBS
The gold rush began just over 60 years after Europeans arrived to Australia, but how did this decade transform the cultural, political, environmental, and economic threads of the nation? ABC, 5.31 min. Eureka! The rush for gold, Rush to Victoria. State Library of NSW. Gold Rush 20 Objects, 20 Stories - Old Treasury Building Exhibition. 1851 Victorian Gold Rush. Melbourne Water - look for the link to "Marvellous Smelbourne" a podcast giving descriptions of Melbourne in the late 1800s. |
Marvellous Melbourne - Melbourne Museum. Also check sections on the gold rush and population increase. Marvellous Melbourne - State Library of Victoria. How did Melbourne become 'marvellous'? The Age newspaper article. Victoria Online Historical Newspapers. Google Sites. Copies of the Age are available. Sample some different years and see how life in Melbourne is changing and the city is growing. Melbourne's Royal Exhibition Building - an architectural masterpiece of the 19th century which showcased Australia's arrival on the world stage as an economic powerhouse. Australia's Heritage - National Treasures. 4.51 min. |
||||
|
John Batman 
City of Melbourne 'John Batman - City Collection' 2019, City Collection, viewed 10 May 2021, < http://citycollection.melbourne.vic.gov.au/john-batman/ > John Batman Founder of Victoria by James Bonwick F.R.G.S. - ebook from Project Gutenberg. Originally published in 1867 it also includes information on the role of John Pascoe Faulkner and others in the founding of Melbourne. John Batman - Australian Dictionary of Biography John Batman, Pastoralist & Melbourne Pioneer (1801-1839) - Museums Victoria Collections. The Truth About John Batman Melbourne's Founder and 'Murderer of the Blacks" - The Conversation. The Batman "Treaty" is Signed. Deadly Story. |
John Pascoe Faulkner 
Yours Truly John Pascoe Fawkner | Ergo 2021., viewed 10 May 2021, < http://ergo.slv.vic.gov.au/image/yours-truly-john-pascoe-fawkner >. John Pascoe Faulkner - Australian Media Hall of Fame. John Pascoe Faulkner - Australian Dictionary of Biography. John Pascoe Faulkner - Museums Victoria Collections John Pascoe Faulkner - Ergo, a State Library of Victoria web site. Reminiscences of John Pascoe Faulkner. - State Library Victoria. Documents available in scanned or text format. |
Melbourne Map Search - State Library of Victoria. Ensure that you enter dates to restrict your search eg 1851-1901. Many maps are digitised. Demography - eMelbourne. This online encyclopedia article explains the historical growth of Melbourne's population. Aborigines and the Gold Rush - State Library of Victoria Impact on Society - State Library of Victoria. Follow the links to explore the impact of the Gold Rush on various aspects of life in Melbourne and Victoria.
The 1890s Treasury Building reflects the wealth the Gold Rush brought to Melbourne. The Golden Metropolis: Overview - eGold, Electronic Encyclopedia of Gold. Gold Rushes Begin - National Museum Australia |
The Courts - Royal Exhibition Building. Account of the opening of the Melbourne International Exhibition 1880. Museums Victoria. Melbourne International Exhibition 1880-81. State Library of Victoria guide. Melbourne International Exhibition, 1880. Document listing Commissioners, regulations for participants and the type of goods on display. National Library of Australia. Book - 'Official Record Melbourne International Exhibition 1880 -1881', Mason, Firth & McCutcheon, 1882 - Museums Victoria. Description of the book and short article about the Exhibition. Guide Intercolonial and international exhibitions 1888-89. State Library of Victoria
Elizabeth St 1880s 'Vintage: Historic Views of Melbourne (1800s)' 2017, MONOVISIONS - Black & White Photography Magazine, viewed 12 May 2021, < https://monovisions.com/vintage-historic-views-of-melbourne-1800s/ >. Land Boom in 1880s Melbourne - Museums Victoria Melbourne's tram system began in 1885 to cater to the growing population. Melbourne's Tram History -Yarra Trams |
||||
| Arguments For & Against | Minority Group Experience | Minority Group Experience | Political Climate | |||||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
|
The federation of Australia - Parliamentary Education Office Records of the Australasian Federal Conventions of the 1890s - Parliament of Australia National Museum of Australia. ,See this defining moment in Australia’s history brought to life, as told by historian David Hunt. More: https://www.nma.gov.au/defining-moments The Debate - Western Australia and Federation: Official Record Proceedings and Debates, Australasian Federation Conference 1890 - Trove Federation and the Constitutional Conventions - Parliament of NSW FEDERATION is the award winning 3 part documentary series, detailing Australia’s rocky road to nationhood, vividly bringing to life the history making events, personalities and experiences that culminated in the federation of the Australian colonies in 1901. Umbrella Entertainment. |
Australia in the 1890s - My Place for Teachers. Check tabs for further information on Political climate and conditions for minority groups.
Sydney then and Now 2019., viewed 04 May 2021, < https://www.visitsydneyaustralia.com.au/then-now.html >. What was life like in the Australian colonies in the late 1800s? - Getting it together from Colonies to Federation. Descriptions of what some Australian cities were like. photos included. Indigenous Australians Aboriginal people and the law - State Library of Victoria. In the Name of Protection - Protection legislation and denial of Human Rights. Australians Together. Aboriginal Protection Act, 1869 - Document available as PDF and Rich Format Text. Australian Museum of Democracy. Aborigines Act 1890 (Victoria) - PDF download available - AustLII is Australia's online free-access resource for Australian legal information. To Remove and Protect - AIATSIS Collection of more than 1 million items related to Australian Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander cultures and histories including laws in States and Territories relating to removal of Aboriginal Children. Check under each State for laws and regulations of the pre Federation Colonies.
 State Library Victoria - Viewer n.d., State Library Victoria, viewed 04 May 2021, < http://handle.slv.vic.gov.au/10381/116221 >.
"Protection" Legislation Introduced in Victoria - Deadly Story Chapter 2 Life Under the Protection Acts - Parliament of Australia, Senate Stolen Wages Report. Bringing them Home Chapter 3 - Australian Human Rights Commission Aboriginal Western Australia and Federation - Western Australia and Federation A History of Aboriginal Sydney 1890s - ‘North Coastal’ is the first stage of a five year project on the history of Aboriginal Sydney supported by the Australian Research Council and the Department of History, University of Sydney. |
Chinese Settlers
The Chinese Heritage of Australian Federation Project from Latrobe University, 'celebrates the contribution of Australia's Chinese communities to the early founding and subsequent development ofAustralia. It focuses on the private, community and public life of Australia's Chinese communities before and after Federation in 1901.' National Archive PodcastUsing the story of Poon Gooey and his family as a case study, the National Archives reveals early 20th-century records on Chinese Australians, under the discrimination of the White Australia Policy. The records show many aspects of the lives of Chinese Australians, including immigration and travel, business enterprises, political activities and community life. Making a nation. National Museum - Endurance ScrollHarvest of Endurance is a 50-metre-long scroll that represents two centuries of Chinese contact with, and emigration to, Australia. Based on historical research the scroll depicts the gold rush era, Chinese miners, anti-Chinese violence, rise of merchants, market gardens, laundries, factories, general store, opium, migration, etc. The Chinese at the Goldfields - SBSThis site describes the impact of the gold rush on the Australian colony: the immigration rush, the multicultural gold fields, the Chinese migrants, the fear and stereotyping of the Chinese, anti-Chinese riots, restrictive immigration Acts that lay the foundation for the White Australia policy, the walk from Robe, mining of Aboriginal lands, Aboriginal labour, and the role of the Native Police Corps. The site is supplemented by original images and text extracts. There is also an interactive map of the discovery of gold around Australia. Resource Sheet Australian Natives Association. Getting it together from Colonies to Federation.
|
Brian de Garis "How Popular was the Popular Federation Movement?" - Parliament of Australia The Centenary of Australia’s Federation: What Should We Celebrate? - Geoffrey Blainey PDF document from Australian Parliament 1890 to 1900 - Towards Federation - Parliament of NSW How did the views of Premier George Reid influence the people of NSW? - Getting it Together - Make sure you click the link to the resource documents. History of Australian Unions. Scroll to the part about the later half of the 1800s. ACTU. Trade Union Movement in Australia - Museums Victoria Collections Edmund Barton Edmund Barton - National Museum of Australia.
Edmund Barton - Wikipedia n.d., viewed 04 May 2021, < https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Edmund_Barton > Edmund Barton - National Archives of Australia. Learning resources include primary sources related to Federation. Edmund Barton - 100 years on - Parliament of Australia Members of the First Parliament - Edmund Barton - Parliament of Australia Exhibitions. Look for the link to Alfred Deakin. Henry Parkes 
Henry Parkes - Australian Media Hall of Fame Henry Parkes - Museum of Australian Democracy. The Henry Parkes Foundation - Further information about Parkes under the Resources tab. Tenterfield Oration. - National Museum Australia Henry Parkes had a vision of a new Australian nation. In 1901, it became a reality - article from The Conversation |
|||||||||
|
Debates that shaped the Nation - Civics and Citizenship Benefits of Federation - Getting it Together - document The Commonwealth League What were the issues for the people of NSW - View some primary source documents from Getting it Together Federation - National Museum of Australia The Federation of Australia - National Archives Australia Federation of Australia - National Library of Australia. Some documents are available online.
Discover the story behind federation in Australia with this introductory video. Outlines basic information about colonies and some reasons for Federation. Parliamentary Education Office. 2:39 min. |
Women Sources on Australian Women Available at the La Trobe Library. article from State Library of Victoria which list the type of publications documenting the lives of women at the time. Women's Rights - Ergo State Library of Victoria Women in Medicine - Ergo State Library of Victoria Women's Right to Vote - Ergo State Library of Victoria Women's Movements 1880s-1960s - University of Melbourne Archives Resource Sheet Vida Goldstein - Getting it together from Colonies to Federation. Louisa Lawson - Getting it together from Colonies to Federation. Caroline Chisholm - Australian Dictionary of Biography  |
Life in late 1800s Australia Australia in the 1880s - My Place for Teachers. Check tabs for further information on Political climate and conditions for minority groups. The Heidelberg School The website linked to below displays the 1891 review from which the term Heidelberg School originated.
A B "Banjo" Paterson This website (click portrait below) provides brief notes about the life of the Australian writer and poet, A. B. 'Banjo' Paterson. The website also includes the novels, short stories, verse (e.g.. Walzing Matilda) and poems by the author.
|
Alfred Deakin  Alfred Deakin and Federation - Deakin University Library The Hon Alfred Deakin - Australian Parliament. Alfred Deakin - National Museum of Australia. Biography - includes video. Alfred Deakin - Australian Media Hall of Fame. Alfred Deakin: Before Office - National Archives of Australia. Deakin Collection - National Library of Australia. Includes online documents. |
|||||||||
| Women's Suffrage | The Arts | Government & Identity | Immigration, Indigenous People, "Australians" |
|---|---|---|---|
|
Women's Suffrage - National Museum Australia. Includes, text, video and images to provide an overview. Votes for Women - Parliament of Australia. Includes list of prominent suffragettes and links. In this video Diane Gardiner, Manager of Community Access at the Public Records Office, introduces us to the ‘Monster Petition’ and speaks about her personal connection to the petition as a descendant of one of the original 30,000 signatories. The South Australian women's suffrage campaign. Government of South Australia, Office for Women. Includes videos and link to Aboriginal Women and the vote. Australia In Colour: The fight for women's suffrage - SBS summary information from TV series, links to suffragettes. Women's Right to Vote - Ergo a State Library of Victoria web site. Includes links to suffragettes. |
March of the Great White Policy - Trove. A song with sheet music designed to promote a "White Australia". Lyrics included on sheet music. "White Australia" (also called "White Australia March", "National Policy Song", & "March of the Great White Policy") Composed by W. E. Naunton Words by the Composer and H. Gyles A National Identity - Waltzing Matilda. National Library of Australia. Original lyrics of Waltzing Matilda and examines why it was of significance at the time of Federation. Ode to Commonwealth Day - Getting It Together, From Colonies to Federation. Winning entry in With the coming of Federation, poetry competition to commemorate Federation and a prize of 50 guineas was offered. Australian Art - National Gallery Australia Art Sets - Australian Impressionists - Art Gallery NSW Migration and Identity in Australia - National Portrait Gallery. 1900s - The Arts - My Place site give a summary of the main arts events shortly after Federation.
|
National Symbols - Parliamentary Education Office. Forging the Nation- National Identity. Australian War Memorial. See also sections on Federation and Seeking Security. Federation and Destiny. Article by John Hirst. Australian Parliament. PDF format. Australian National Flag - Department of Prime Minister and Cabinet. Our Federation Journey - Who created the nation? - Museums Victoria Collection - Summaries key movements and people in the move to Federation. Also digital images of badges designed to commemorate Federation and shape a national identity. Elizabeth Kwan "National Parliament, National Symbols: From British to Australian Identity*" - Papers on Parliament no.47. Parliament of Australia. National Film and Sound Archive of Australia (NFSA) Directed by Raymond Longford and filmed by Ernest Higgins, this film captures the formal naming of Canberra, on 12 March 1913. It has been digitally restored by the NFSA as part of the celebrations for the Centenary of Canberra. |
Our Federation Journey - A 'White Australia' - Museums Victoria National identity is a complex phenomenon. How a nation is regarded on the world stage is a product of the history, beliefs and virtues that have influenced its character. The Director of the National Centre for Australian Studies, Bruce Scates takes us on a journey from a time when our identity was dependent on race, gender and cultural background to the events of the twentieth century that have changed old images and helped shape a new and more inclusive identity. 20 min. The Immigration Restriction Act 1901 - National Archives of Australia. 1901 Immigration Restriction Act - Objects in Time, Migration Heritage Centre, NSW. The focus questions here are "What does it mean to be an Australian?", and "Why do we need an identity?". Archival film is used to encourage discussion about traditional conceptions of the Australian image. Students are invited to challenge the legends and consider how they match reality. This thought-provoking program is presented by Richard Morecroft. 18 min. White Australia Policy - National Museum Australia. |
|
Anti-Female-Suffrage League memorandum to Prime Minister Barton regarding voting rights for women. National Archives of Australia. Scanned original document. Suffrage 125: Temperance and women’s activism. Centre of Democracy, South Australia Government. Birth of a nation: how Australia empowering women taught the world a lesson - SBS News article. Presented by award-winning historian Dr Clare Wright, Utopia Girls tells the fascinating story of how Australian women became the first in the world to gain full political rights. CAST: Barry Otto, Kerry Walker. 52 min. Women's Suffrage Movement. Government of Western Australia. PDF document featuring the Women's Suffrage Movement in WA and Edith Cowan. Australian Natives Association - National Museum Australia - see section on support for Women's Suffrage but also note the support for a White Australia. |
Defining Moments - My Brilliant Career. National Museum Australia An Outback Marriage by Andrew Barton PATERSON read by Arrowhead Aussie | Full Audio Book.Originally published in 1901. Paterson, Andrew Barton (Banjo) (1864–1941) - Australian Dictionary of Biography. Australian Literature - Encyclopedia Britannica. See section "Nationalism and expansion". Dorothea MacKellar - Poet who wrote My Country in 1908.
|
History of Banknotes - Reserve Bank of Australia. Australian Coins a Fascinating History - Australian Mint. PDF document. See the section about when Australian coins were introduced.
File:Australian Coat of Arms (1908).PNG - Wikimedia Commons n.d., viewed 24 The Commonwealth Coat of Arms.- Department of Prime Minister and Cabinet. Infosheet 13 - The Constitution - Parliament of Australia fact sheet explaining how the Constitution was created and what it does. What is the Australian Constitution? - Articles about the Australian Constitution and a link to the Act. Australian Constitution Centre The Rising Sun Badge - Australian Army article describes the evolution and significance of the Rising Sun Badge. How old is the Navy?- Australian Navy article. Becoming a Nation - National Museum Australia' s digital classroom site. Stamps After Federation - Australia Post article, with images. |
What was the White Australia Policy, and how does it still affect us now? - NITV article with images. Why being an Australian citizen doesn’t mean others will believe you truly belong - Sydney Morning Herald Opinion article examines the relevance of identity at Federation and modern Citizenship. Overview of Indigenous Affairs: Part 1: 1901 to 1991 - Parliament of Australia. Check the section at and immediately after Federation. Identity 1900 - Western Australia and Federation. Timeline: Recognition of Australia's Indigenous people - ABC News blog. Equal Rights for Aborigines: Indigenous Activism and Constitutional Reform - National Archives of Australia. When the Commonwealth of Australia was founded in 1901, the very last thing the nation wanted to be was multicultural. The measures taken to ensure this would be the case not only caused great human suffering, but in a supreme historical irony, actually helped create the very threat Australia feared the most – invasion from the Asian north. Australian Perspective. 55 min. |
Living with the locals : early Europeans' experience of indigenous life by 
Signed, sealed, delivered : our textual heritage by 
Currency lads & lasses : behind the faces on Australian banknotes by 
Australian Verse by 
