Year Eight - Middle Ages - Humanities - Library at Genazzano FCJ College

Medieval Period / Middle Ages

The sites below provide a range of information about the Medieval Period. Most contain resources for several of the topic areas. Some will include images and videos as well as text. Check the links carefully and then look for relevant sub headings.

Middle Ages History Channel
Links to topics including Black Death, Crusades, Knights Templar, Middle Ages.
Middle Ages
BBC web site topics include Black Death, . Ensure that you expand the sub topics, for example, look for Cathedrals under the Architecture section.

Education Resources for Schools Teachers and Students - ABC Education n.d., Splash, viewed 17 May 2021, < https://education.abc.net.au/home#!/topic/1547908/middle-ages/video >

Anglo-Saxons
BBC web site. Topics include an overview of Anglo Saxon Culture, threat posed by the Normans.
An Introduction to Medieval England (1066–1485)
Overview by English Heritage. Includes information about Norman Rule, Magna Carta, Church and Society, Plague, Medieval architecture, war and religion.

Anglo Saxon England

Anglo Saxons : a brief history
Read this article to find out about the Anglo Saxons.
Who Were the Anglo Saxons?
British Library article and images of artefacts including manuscripts, map, statue.
Anglo Saxons
Britannica Anglo Saxon article
What happened to the Anglo- Saxons and Vikings?
BBC Bitesize
What is English Heptarchy?
Britannica.com

The Anglo Saxon Invasion of Britain - The Heptarchy
Two fearsome Jutish war leaders arrive on British shores, what ensues will change the fate of the country forever. HistOracle. 6 min.

Pilgrimages

Pilgrimage in Medieval Europe
Met, New York - Art History essay. Includes images of pilgrim artefacts.
Medieval Pilgrimages: It’s All About the Journey
Article discusses reasons for pilgrimage and describes important pilgrimage sites. Medievalist.net.
Pilgrimages: medieval summer holidays?
Medieval Manuscripts Blog from the British Library. Includes descriptions of Pilgrimages to Jerusalem, Santiago de Compostela and Canterbury. Images of manuscripts and artworks.

Our latest Spotlight On film focuses on our medieval collection. It sees Dr Gabrielle Heffernan, Assistant Curator at the Hull & East Riding Museum, talking about medieval pilgrim badges. Hull Museum, UK.

Pilgrims and Pilgrimage Patterns of Pilgrimage in England c.1100-c.1500
Article focuses on pilgrimage in literature of the time. Provides examples, descriptions and images of stained glass windows, illustrations and map.
World Pilgrimage Guide
Chronicles the growth of pilgrimage in Europe. Scroll to the section on "The Arrival of Christianity and the Age of Medieval Pilgrimage". Interactive map.
Medieval Pilgrimage
Excellent site devoted the life, death and influence of Thomas Becket. Has links to reasons for pilgrimage, relics, shrines, destinations and more.
Pilgrimage Routes and the Cult of the Relic
Khan Academy article.

The Birth of Universities

Medieval Monasticism

Monks and Heretics - Interviews with historians and the dramatisation of a medieval monk's pilgrimage are used to provide an understanding of the age of monasticism, pilgrimage and heresy. 52 mins.

Monks and Monasticism
Britannica School Article. Ensure you scroll down the article to the section headed 'Types of Monasticism.'

There were many different religious communities in medieval Britain. Many of English Heritage’s religious sites were once home to one of the four major monastic movements – the Benedictines, Cluniacs, Carthusians and Cistercians. But do you know the difference between these religious orders? Watch this animation to find out more. English Heritage.

Discover how monasteries evolved from a cult of extreme isolation and self-deprivation into powerhouses of Anglo-Saxon art, industry and learning. History Channel, 2018, 58.min.

They were religious men who often lived sequestered from society in self-contained monasteries. This programme teaches students about monastic life in the Middle Ages, exploring the simple lives led by monks, often devoid of many luxuries of the period. 20 min.

The British Library - Women in Medieval Society

Free Picture: Medieval, Mosaic, Queen, Women, Religion, Creation, Art, Culture n.d., PIXNIO - Public Domain Images, viewed 17 May 2021, < https://pixnio.com/art/medieval-mosaic-queen-women-religion-creation-art-culture >

The Middle Ages
Manuscripts depicting life in the Middle Ages, look for the link to Medieval Women. British Library.
Notable Women of Medieval Europe
This article provides information about notable medieval women such as Catherine de Medici and Joan of Arc. Search the Britannica database for further information about the notable woman you have chosen to research.

The Black Death

Black Death
History Channel feature article about Black Death includes origins of the plague, transmission, treatment and significance of religion at the time.
On the Trail of Black Death
In depth feature article from ABC TV Science web site.
The Bright Side of the Black Death
Article from American Scientist detailing the origins and spread of the Black Death as well as the positive consequences for society's survivors.
The Consequences of the Black Death
Part of BBC Bitesize feature on the Black Death. Use the page numbers at the bottom to navigate back to the start for more information on the causes, spread, symptoms and treatment of Black Death.
Consequences of the Black Death
Provides statistics for the social and economic impact of the Black Death and also refers to political consequences. History by Numbers.

Knights and Crusades

Medieval Knights
Article about Medieval Knights, many links to related topics.
Chivalry Was Established to Keep Thuggish, Medieval Knights in Check
History Channel article with images.

With their code of chivalry and the legendary adventures of King Arthur, much has been romanticised about the lives of knights. But what were they really like? Were all of their exploits necessarily for the greater good? 22 min.

The Crusades (1095–1291)
The Met museum exhibition. Article describes each of the Crusades and features images of some artefacts.

Holy War - In this new three-part series Dr Thomas Asbridge presents his revelatory account of the Crusades, the 200-year war between Christians and Muslims for control of the Holy Land. 51 min.

The Crusades: Consequences & Effects
Article examines the consequences of the The Crusades in both Europe and the Middle East. Includes maps and images.

The Role of Cathedrals

Cathedral Building in the Middle Ages
Article from Durham World Heritage site, explores how craftsmen were employed to build cathedrals. Visit the link to the building of Durham Cathedral.
Cathedrals
Britannica School Article. This article explains some of the reasons cathedrals were built.

Medieval Cathedrals
Overview of Medieval Cathedrals and link to how they were built. History Learning Site.
Medieval churches: sources and forms
Article from Khan Academy. Also see the article relating to pilgrimage and the need to accomodate large groups.
The Cathedrals of Britain
BBC History in Depth. Features design and floor plan of several cathedrals. Ensure that you focus on the Medieval cathedrals not the more modern examples.

Humanities: Year Eight - Middle Ages

Research