Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Overview of Mime
Britannica: Mime and pantomime
Read this article for an overview of mime, from its early Western forms and usage in Asian dance-dramas, to modern mime. You can also view videos of mime and related articles on Britannica, particularly focusing on notable performers.
Digital Theatre Plus: a concise introduction to mime
This introduction provides an overview of the history of mime, outlines the theory and contemporary practice of mime. You will need to contact your drama teacher to sign in to DT+
Overview of physical theatre/neutral mask
This webpage for Fool Moon Productions provides an overview of the philosophy of Lecoq's teaching tool for actors - the Neutral Mask. There are pictures and videos to illustrate the idea.
Influences on mime
This article provides a brief description of this iconic Commedia dell'arte character, also known as Pierrot in French.
In the video above, a pantomime actor provides a brief overview of the history of pantomime in British theatre and demonstrates the exaggerated physical acting and stock character types.
Practicioners of mime
Britannica: Jacques Copeau
This article provides a brief overview of the career of Jacques Copeau, French theatre actor and director who took on training actors in improvising, mime and strenuous physical exercises.
Digital Theatre Plus: Jacques Copeau
This introduction provides an overview of Jacques Copeau. You will need to contact your drama teacher to sign in to DT+
Etienne Decroux and Corporeal Mime
Former student of Jacques Copeau and founder of Corporeal Mime, this website provides an overview of Decroux's career and philosophy of technique.
Britannica: Marcel Marceau
This article provides an overview of one of the most well known masters of mime and former student of Decroux - Marcel Marceau
Lecoq founded his theatre school in 1956, with a focus on training actors in movement analysis and improvisation.
Digital Theatre Plus: Jacques LeCoq
This introduction provides an overview of Jacques LeCop. You will need to contact your drama teacher to sign in to DT+
Theatre de Complicite
Contemporary theatre company, Theatre de Complicite, create highly physical, devised, multidisciplinary works. Many of the actors are trained at the Lecoq school.