Sciences: Year 10: Genetics and Evolution

This article provides an overview of DNA and includes videos, images and links to other recommended websites.

This article provides an overview of the concept of genes. Words highlighted in blue are linked to related articles on Britannica and the page contains links to other recommended websites.

This webpage contains easy to understand videos and articles on ideas related to Genetics, such as traits, DNA and genes, inheritance, mutation and more.

A series of articles discussing genes and DNA with reference to the primate family tree and kinship with humans. Other related topics include human skin colour variation and Neanderthals.

What exactly is a gene and what does it mean to modify the genes of a plant or animal?
This short film is designed to help. Here we discuss a basic definition of a gene, show what a gene looks like, what it is that genes actually code for, and the basic idea behind Genetically Modified Organisms.

This short animation has been made for those wanting a simple introduction — or even a refresher — on how DNA creates a living creature. In this video you will learn a bit about genetic code, DNA transcription and translation, and the importance of proteins in the chemistry of life.

Have you ever wondered about what it is to be human, how we got to be the kind of species we are, and what makes us a unique species? Check out this collection of clips about human evolution. You'll find out the answers to questions like, ‘Are humans still evolving?' and ‘How are we related to living apes?'

This article provides an overview of the life and career of Charles Darwin, as well as linking to related content including images, videos, websites and other Britannica articles. Log in with your GenConnect details to access the article.

This article provides a comprehensive overview of the theory of evolution. You can click on words highlighted in blue for further information on that concept. The articles includes related content such as videos and recommended websites.

This article provides a brief overview of natural selection. The article contains related images and recommended websites.

This webpage contains easy to understand videos and articles on a range of topics relating to evolution and DNA, including heredity, mutation, speciation and natural selection.

The video on this webpage provides a simple and accessible overview of the concept of evolution and how it works.

Natural Selection is one of the main concepts found within the theory of evolution. It was discovered by Charles Darwin and Alfred Russel Wallace though Darwin championed the idea in his book On the Origin of Species.

Natural selection can be defined as the process by which random evolutionary changes are selected for by nature in a consistent, orderly, non-random way.

This video starts with a close look at the origin of whales from land mammals and then touches on the origins of several other animals, including our own species. This webpage also contains links to related articles and videos.